Sunday, February 14, 2016

The treadmill is hard!

I managed to do 7 km on the treadmill the other day at the gym, and then I decided to do 15 stair repeats. It was hard! The next day I didn’t want to do anything but I still went. Well, actually I never really want to do anything at the gym. One day I will convince the rest of the girls to go for a tea and not run. Lori is the problem though, all motivated and stuff!   

Shelley and I ended up going to the gym Friday night, we went around 8:00 pm and there was hardly anyone there! Go figure. Friday night. 8 pm and no one was at the gym. We got a treadmill next to each other and chatted for a bit. We knew Border Patrol was on so Shelley paused her treadmill to go on the hunt for the remote. No luck! So no Border Patrol! Kaitlin must have hid the remote somewhere. (Kaitlin, if you are reading this please change the channel before you leave for the night to detour (or NTV) just in case we go to the gym late on Friday night again.) So we carried on with our run.  We both ran 5 km; I found it hard and looked like I needed a shower. Shelley looked like she never even ran.

I am not sure if I have mentioned this before but I am also in an adult Hip Hop class at Revolutions Dance in Mount Pearl. I. LOVE.IT. I was in it before having kids and a few months after having Ava, then got pregnant right away and then I couldn’t go again.  My pregnancies were not pretty! I could hardly walk, let alone dance. 

Anyway, I think Janelle St. George is trying to (a) kill us or (b) whip us into shape so we can dance to the Missy Elliott remix she got going on!  Two weeks in a row now she has us doing a circuit for our warm up. Last week I had an accident with the broom stick where we were supposed to jump OVER the stick that was place between two chairs. My feet did not like this idea.  I jumped right in the middle of the broom stick and made a "little" bend in it. I did find out tonight that someone did even more damage and the broom stick is no more. We now have to jump over tension bands laid on the floor. Do you think I could jump over that without tripping up? Nope. But I don’t think anyone noticed.

This is week two now of a weight gain with Weight Watchers. I feel like I have to start all over again or be in that mind set again.  I knew I was going to be up again but I still weighed in. I was actually able to get to a meeting later that day! I did really good this weekend and even went to two birthday parties and didn’t have any cake! I didn’t pick at any treats and I tracked everything I ate.  

I pay for the monthly plan and it just comes out of my account every month. I am going to change that plan. I am going to pay for 3 months (like I did when I first started) and set goals within those months. I also get a free month!  By the time the change is made on my account it will be for April (March is already paid for) which is when I started last year. I wanted to lose weight for the Tely 10. This will be a goal for me again!


I will keep you posted next week after my weigh in!

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

I can't wait to run outside again!

I really can’t wait to start running outside. I think the next “nice” day I might get out there and run! I am writing this while looking out the window on this snow day. I really don’t like the cold but I am glad I get to stay home today.

I am still finding it hard to stay motivated while running on the treadmill (even thought I updated my playlist) and it seems lately at the gym it is harder to find a treadmill not in use. And it seems like it is out of the question for all four of us to have a treadmill next to each other. :) When I am not on the treadmill, I find myself wandering over to the Lateral machine. I used to find it really hard, only lasting about 5 minutes.  This is around the time me and Shelley would give each other the look to find another machine…or go home.  Last night I was on that machine for over 20 minutes!! It was great!

I have been on a weight loss plateau that has been going on for months now! At least the gym is keeping me active, right? I am still in Weight Watchers but they changed the plan…again and I do not really like it. Yes, I know Oprah lost 26 pounds by eating bread everyday but we can save that for another blog. So, to add some more activity into my life I decided to take adult swimming lessons at the Summit Centre in Mount Pearl starting in March. I can swim, and I love swimming but this will make me GO swimming! This class is for intermediate swimmers. I don’t really know what to expect but I am hoping it will make me faster!! Hey, Sara Ralph can I request you to be my instructor? 


I will be 37 this month and I have been playing around with the idea of doing a triathlon for a while now but I really don’t like fish…and the pond…and fish.  I know, I know they won’t be swimming by my feet or face but they are still there! I can feel them looking at me, I really can! I told myself that I would tri to complete one before I turn 40. That is long enough to train, right? 

Thursday, February 4, 2016

The pros and cons of having gym buddies

The pros and cons of having gym buddies:

Pros: they make you go to the gym!
Cons: they make you go to the gym!

I didn’t make it to the gym last night because I had to help put together our bed that took way to long, so I planned on going tonight. I sent a message to Shelley, Lori and Paula to see if they wanted to go tonight which is not usually our gym night. Paula was the only one able to go; the other girls had other obligations. Then Paula bailed.  At first I thought, deadly! I don’t need to go to the gym! Then it clicked in to why I actually go to the gym. To be active and to lose weight.


The girls needed proof that I went to the gym solo.  I ended up bumping into Gina Barnes, Shelley Penney, Marion Barnes and Wendy Wall. They were just finishing up their workout while I was starting.  Gina was ever so kind to take a picture of me running on the treadmill. I did 5 km’s on that thing! Brutal! It was brutal!  I can’t wait for the snow to go. Just sayin.




So while on the treadmill, I was thinking that I was done after the 5 km’s and I was going to go home. I then decided to go on the recumbent bike for 10 minutes, then the lateral machine for another 10 minutes.  I don’t think I am going to be able to walk tomorrow.

Something kept me going tonight. Maybe it was because I actually updated my playlist, maybe it was because I missed yesterday’s gym time or maybe it was because I actually had some energy!

I made my way over to the mat to complete my workout with some stretching. I then decided to do a plank! However, I had to find someone to take a picture of me doing a plank (thank you random stranger entering the gym) because it never happened if there is no picture while at the gym without your friends. Lori, you would be proud! I did a plank, it wasn’t for long but I did it!




I am not done yet! I then decided to do 13 stair repeats. That was brutal as well! I had to do 13 because Paula has a thing about odd numbers. See what a good friend I am! (Thank you gym employee for taking this picture while randomly walking up the stairs!)  

Shelley is probably saying, "why didn't you do 15, we stopped at 13 last time we did them."  It was hard Shelley and I didn't realized how much I depended on you to count them! 



This is by far the best workout I have had in a long time. It was really hard but I pushed myself through it!



Tomorrow is my weigh day at Weight Watchers. I am pretty sure I am going to be up but tomorrow is a new day and I will start fresh from there. I have to think about how far I have come.  If it wasn’t for the gym and my gym buddies I would have gained weight already this winter.


Thanks for reading! Stay tuned!

Monday, February 1, 2016

Welcome to February

Well hello again. Welcome to February. I will be your host for this blog.

I won’t be writing about many (if any) outdoors runs during this blog, I don’t like running outside in the winter because, well, it is cold. And if you remember the Tely 10 after party me and cold don’t mix. (If you can’t remember you can scroll back to the July blog.) I am also afraid I am going to fall down and hurt myself. Again. Some of accidents/incidents have been documented in Shelley Gosse’s blog. Check them out! http://thericekrispiequeen.blogspot.ca

So I joined the gym and I convinced a few suckers to join with me. Ya that’s right Shelley, Paula and Lori! It is fun. Sometimes.  I would much rather run outside but I had to do something in the winter to make sure I don’t gain back the weight I already lost and to keep up my cardio.  I have only ran 5 km on the treadmill at the gym and I find that hard to stay motivated.  I will be training for a half marathon in the next few months but I won’t be doing that on the treadmill that is for sure.

I wanted to give a little update on my health. My back, knee and every other muscle and joints still hurt but I think I have come to terms that I will always hurt but I know I always got to keep moving!  

I recently went to my doctor again, my regular checkup. Like always, I am frighten to death that my Dr. will up my meds (I am diabetic).  I thought for sure my fasting sugars were going to be super high and my A1C’s were going to be up again. Well guess what!?  He was happy that I was still losing weight AND my fasting sugars were down AND my A1C’s were down! I was shocked! I have also been complaining of stomach issues that have been ongoing for a while now. We are not sure what is going on but with trial and error I was taken off ANOTHER drug! If all goes well in the next few weeks I can stay off that drug! That means I am only on one drug now. ONE. This is also motivation to get my butt to the gym. 


Well, that's my update. Now it’s bed time.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Countdown to Christmas Eve

Tempus Fugit....
Can I stop the hands of time and go back at least to an extra month? I am starting to get freaked out.  What kind of weather will we face?  As much as I love wind, I would rather it to be in the summer heat, as  it holds dampness it gets in the bones much deeper.  If I were to write a book it will be "What not to do while training for a half marathon"  Chapters of "Cross training for the bountiful, Strength training, Support of a Team, You got to be kidding me, Shoulda-Coulda-Woulda, Who? Me!, Run ?!  and Suck it up and getter done.


Craig gets really excited when Christmas Eve comes, well I do for the actual Christmas Eve, not so much with this lol.  Getting many tips from my fellow PRC and I must say I really like the spin bike. ( Now this does not mean I am thinking about a Triathlon Craig Pike)


Its much easier to work on a goal when you have others around you with the same goal.  My PRC family will see me through this I am certain of it. Unless they start urging me to sell my bib before Feb 5, then it will be a sign.... ahem... a sign? 
Nah if I don't go through with this then I am the only person that will be disappointed and let myself down. I am the one to be accountable for my actions.


Taking this time to pray for everyone to get across that finish line without incident.  Protect us all in these hours of need and give you the glory.  We will all experience pain, blisters, legs, feet, cold, hot, and no doubt overwhelming emotions when you see that finish line. 


If God brings us to it, he will bring us through it.  Many Blessings to you all.


Amen

Saturday, January 16, 2016

Sing a Song Shall We?

During my run this morning I could think of some songs to get me through this. 
Living on a Prayer, Running on Empty, Dream it's over, I think we are alone now, Running out of time, Stronger, Can't stop and for the temperatures today, I can't feel my face  and many many more.


Just when I couldn't go another step, my lungs were burning today, Brenda comes up and gives me a little push on the back and guides me along at a quicker pace to say come on girl you can do it.  Bless her heart!


Would you believe I have 21 days, 21 hours, 41 minutes and 7 seconds from now to do the Hypo Half Marathon? You know they say time flies. No turning back the time now, shoulda, coulda, woulda thoughts. I should have done this more, I am in for a rude awakening, all I hope for is that I have nothing drastic happen to me on my route.  I know I shouldn't go thinking about those things.  I am stronger than yesterday, what doesn't kill you will make you stronger.


When I run I think about those who cannot either due to spinal issues, knee troubles, heart troubles, or dealing with their demons that arose in their lives. I pray for them as I am running.  I think about all of you when you are running... did YOU know that?


I got some great advice today from two friends who have been there and done that. So I take the advice and get on with it.  Thank you Dan and Tanya.


One song that really hits home with me, well maybe two but this one is one that I reach for when I can't find another step.  I hope you "you tube" it and listen to it.  The last part of the song where she tells it like it is... my favorite part... suck it up and give it a try.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TGuC8BrOoaA  thanks for listening.


TRY
I've chased after rainbows
I've captured one or two
I've reached for the stars
I've even held a few
I've walked that lonesome valley
Topped the mountain, soared the sky
I've laughed and I have cried
But I have always tried
I've always been a dreamer
And dreams are special things
But dreams are of no value
If they're not equipped with wings
So secure yourself for climbing
Make ready for the flight
Don't let your chance go by
You'll make it if you try
So try to be the first one up the mountain
And try to be the first to touch the sky
And try to be the one who makes a difference
Try to put your fear and doubt aside
And try to make the most of every moment
'Cause if you never try you never win
So try each day to try a little harder
And if you fall, get up and try again
(Try and try and try)
(Try and try and try)
Nothing is impossible
If you can just believe
Don't live your life in shackles
When faith can be the key
The winner's one who keeps determination in his eyes
Who's not afraid to fly and not afraid to try
So try to be the first one up the mountain
And try to be the first to touch the sky
And try to count your blessings and keep counting
And try to soar where only eagles fly
And if you fail at first just keep on trying
For you are not a failure in God's eyes
The first step is the one that's always hardest
But you won't amount too much if you don't try
So spread your wings and let the magic happen
Cause you'll never really know if you don't try
(Try and try and try)
You gotta try (Try and try and try)
Come give it a try (Try and try and try)
You have to try (Try)

Oh I know it ain't easy
Who ever said it was?
Life is hard
Same as it ever was (Try)
You have to try (You have to try)
When you think you can't do it, just try a little harder
Just dig a little deeper and go a little farther but try (Try)
You have to try (Try)
Whatever it is, you're gonna get through it
Let the spirit lead you, I know you can do it, just try (Try)
Just give it a try

And whenever you think you ain't gonna make it
Put a smile on your face, suck it up and fake it
For a while (Give it a try)
At least you'll know you tried (Give it a try)
Don't think I don't suffer, I know what I'm saying
When I get to that place when I start praying and I try
Lord knows I try
Yes I try


Read more: Dolly Parton - Try Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Friday, January 1, 2016

HAPPY NEW YEAR PRC!!!

First and Foremost: 
I want to wish my Paradise Running Family a VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! 
YOU ARE ALL SIMPLY AMAZING PEOPLE.
I AM SO BLESSED TO HAVE YOU IN MY LIFE.


Today marks another year starting 2016.  Where were you a year ago? Can you remember, making another resolution for 2015 no doubt.  What are you saying for this year?  Faster? Stronger? No Injuries? More Races? and of course
this one Healthier.  As a runner we are striving for many of these and we take some things for granted.  Every time I finish a race I thank my creator for my heart, my lungs and my legs, its a given I already have the spirit. 


Let's ask our selves what are we doing this year?  Say it out loud it gets to the head and the heart of the matter.
Running the Resolution Run today I am sure everyone had those thoughts.  With the PRC representing we are trudged off into the slush, ice and snow.  But what a beautiful day it was hey? So blessed to getting off to a great start for 2016!!